Sarah's Chess Journal

         my journal, blog, web log, blog.....about

         The History and The Culture of Chess

Chess Oscar
March 08, 2004


Raymond Keene with the World chess Oscar


Jordi Puig, who established the Chess Oscars in 1967, died in 1989.


The exact history of this award is as murky as it's proceedure.


It's a seemingly pretigious prize, organized, at least at present, by the Russian magazine 64 which invites chess journalists, Grandmasters, and officials to submit their personal top 10 choices for player of the year. Some place else mentions that the recipient is decided by votes of the International Association of Chess Journalists.


It's unclear who is given the award. It seems it is given in several categories. It also seems that women and men are separate categories. For instance, the award is a statuette of a woman holding a canopy above her head but Judit Polgar's 1992 award was a plaque designed by artist Laszlo Moholy-Nagy.


The 1997 Oscar was given to Pal Benko and Judit Polgar as well as to Bobby Fischer for lifetime achievement.


Garry Kasparov won it a total of 12 times


One place said that  Kasparov won it in 2003, 2002, 2001. 


Another place said the 2001 World Chess Oscar went to  Vladimir Kramnik.


Susan Polgar claims she won it in 1994 and 1995, but was this the "woman's version" or overall?


Karpov was awarded the Chess Oscar eleven times.


Fischer won the Chess Oscar for 1970, 1971, and 1972.


Boris Spassky handing Anand the Oscar


Viswanathan Anand won it in 1997 and 1998.


Boris Spassy also won a Chess Oscar.


Q. Who won it back in 1967 ??


A. Bent Larsen

Archives by Title



Sarah's Serendipitous Chess Page
The Life and Chess of Paul Morphy
Sarah's Chess History Forum

chess - general

Chesslinks Worldwide

chess - history

Mark Week's History on the Web
Chess Journalists of America
Chess History Newsgroup
Hebrew Chess
Chess Tourn. & Match History
Super Tournaments of the Past
La grande storia degli scacchi
Bobby Fischer
Bil Wall's Chess Pages